Big Apple BJJ Open 2013 Gold Medal


I have been competing for few years now and have placed in a few tournaments.

On May 18th, I competed in Big Apple BJJ Open 2013 in NYC, organized by Vitor Shaolin, in Man’s Masters Light weight (168) division.

I am 35 so this is my last year in the Masters division. My goal is to win Gold in a few tournaments this year.

So the first one is in the bag.

My first match I won by Bow and Arrow choke. The training at Marcelo Garcia‘s academy paid off and my back attack are more fluid and aggressive.

Final match was a bit tougher. I was happy again to see the training paying off and X-Guard becoming a functional part of my technique. I made a mistake at the completion of the sweep and got caught in the triangle choke attempt.

Thank’s to a Black Belt I used to train with (Ron), I was able to escape.

Once more, Marcelo Garcia’s relantless emphasys on staying on top and not letting apponent get on top paid off and at the end of the match I was able to prevent the opponent from scoring sweep point by kicking him off and standing up.

Overall, I am happy with my performance. Lessons learned and few things need to be polished off and more drilling to be done.

Big thanks to all my training partners and instructors.

 

This entry was posted in BJJ, BJJ Reflections, General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

